Dessert

Banana Cake and paint!

First, I would like to thank all of you, my readers, for your patience while I’ve been healing!  As I wrote in my last post “Girl, Interrupted” I had a fall down a flight of stairs in Holland. After spending a few hours in the hospital there, and a few days waiting for some cerebral swelling to subside, I flew home and had some surgery on my right arm/wrist.  Basically, I shattered my wrist and had to have a plate and seven screws put in.  Now, I’m in physio to regain some movement and strength – I have very little of either.  It’s just been in the last few weeks that I’ve been able to use fingers on my right hand to type!  Now I can at least blog again thought I, but that means I would have to have something to blog about? Ugh, but I can’t cook!  So it’s been hard.

Well, that’s coming to an end!  I’ve made scones with just my left hand.  Jam, crushing all those strawberries with just my left hand.  Today, I baked a cake!  Eureka! Success!!

Definitely not enough frosting! But SO SO yummy!
Definitely not enough frosting! But SO SO yummy!

So, while my ever helpful husband (re)paints our front hall, I baked a cake!  You know, he’s a trooper!  I had him paint the hall a few years ago and once the colour went up, I hated it! I like the colour, just not on MY wall!  But I didn’t have the heart to tell him,  One of the great things that happened during my recuperation is that he said “pick out some paint and I’ll get the house painted”  Foolish man!  I’m pretty sure he was thinking the UPSTAIRS of the house, since we hadn’t touched that yet. But sitting in a recliner all day for 3 months staring at my front hall…. yep, that paint had to go!  So while I’m writing this, he’s painting!  I did give him a bit of a break however, when that banana cake was done!

Let me tell you about it!  This cake is so moist and yummy you don’t need to do anything to it – just cut and serve!  However, I dressed it up a bit!  When I was a kid my mother made a banana cake and iced it with a peanut butter icing!  It was like a peanut butter & banana sandwich – IN CAKE FORM! She made it in an 8×8 pan and iced it right in the pan.  It didn’t last long in our home.  I confess now, I never made it before today.  I had these rather over-ripe bananas to use or throw out.  I had a choice – banana bread, banana muffins…. bah, so ordinary!  So I sat down and figured out how to turn these into a yummy moist cake!  Are you ready for a taste?  Here we go:

Preheat the oven to 350.  Grease/flour and line with parchment 2 x 8″ or 9″ round cake pans.  See? Already different from mom’s cake!  (She couldn’t find the recipe when I called her! Oh dear!!) I had to combine two different recipes to get what I thought would work…and it did!

In one bowl, you will need to whisk together:

2 1/4 c Cake & Pastry Flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp Baking Powder (gotta tell ya, I use Clabber Girl – NOTHING like it!)
1/2 tsp salt

In a second bowl, mash ripe bananas (you’ll need about 1 cup!)
combine the bananas with 1/4 c plain greek yogurt!  Seriously!!
1 tsp vanilla

Then, in your mixer cream 1/2 c of unsalted soft butter.  Keep your mixer going and add in 1 c + 2 TBSP sugar.  Mix this until it’s all light and fluffy!  You’ll know when – it gets a nice light yellow and fluffy looking!
Beat into this 2 large eggs (one at a time).

Turn your mixer to low-speed, then add 1/3 of the dry ingredients, mix, 1/2 of the banana mixture, mix, 1/3 dry, 1/2 bananas,and the final 1/3 dry.  Beat this until it’s all smooth – you’ll need to stop and scrape down the sides as you go.

Divide the batter between the two prepared cake pans and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick tester comes out clean.

Cool on a rack. Then remove and cool longer.  When completely cool… you can start the yummy stuff!

So, I also didn’t have a recipe for the Peanut Butter Icing!  Now, confession time. If you look at the picture you’ll see that I didn’t have enough!  My bad.  I was low on both peanut butter and icing sugar (confectioners sugar) so…. I’ll give you what I think are the correct quantities:

1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/2 c unsalted butter (soft)

Mix these together until they look like one!

Add 2 cups icing/confectioner’s sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla

Beat until smooth – well, as smooth as you can when you use crunchy peanut butter!

Assembly:

Turn the first layer of cake upside down so the flat side is “up”Lightly ‘ice’ with the frosting and use another ripe banana sliced – arrange the banana slices over the frosting.

Top with the second layer of cake – round side up – that’s the pretty side on top!!
Frost with the remaining peanut butter icing. Cover the top and sides.

Slice and enjoy!  I feel sorry for people with peanut allergies – they have no idea what they are missing with this cake!

Scott, by the way, loved it!  Now… get back to work!

Happy noshing!

photo-65

Leave a Reply

