Christmas

Who are you calling a Fruit Cake?

Hmmm, Christmas!  I love this time of year!  I love all the smells!  I love all the lights! I love that people are generally happy and polite!  (I love that I’m using a million exclamation marks in this post so far!)

My daughter and I have an annual ritual – we watch Bing Crosby’s White Christmas together.  Now, if you’ve watched it you know there is very little “Christmas” in that movie until it nears the very end.  But my goodness that Vera Ellen could dance!  Those feet move at lightening speed. Last year was the first year we didn’t watch it together, and yet we did.  She was a newlywed and we don’t live too too close together – about a 40-45 minute drive from each other.  So we watched it at the same time, exactly, with tea and Christmas Cookies, both logged into MSN Messenger, and both hit the play button at the same time.  It was the most fun thing to do!  We quoted lines before they were said.  We laughed. We had fun – watching a movie together in different towns at the same time!  Try it!

This year, we watched it together at my home. and it was just delightful.  I miss my daughter living at home, but I do love that she has become quite a wonderful baker.  Her cookies are fantastic.  Well, everything she bakes turns out so well, including pie! Oh how jealous I am of her pie making abilities – it’s the one thing I have never mastered.  😦   I digress…

Christmas!  Fruit Cake!  Door stops?  Nope.  Another family tradition is the Christmas Cake that my mother gives me each year.  Back in “the day” she would make it from scratch and decorate it with the marzipan and icing and glace cherries of red and green, together with some beautiful silver dragées.  It was a work of art.  Delicious?  Sure was!  Well mom is now 88 and her Christmas Cake baking days are over.  But each year I still get a Fruit Cake from her, usually purchased from the local Lion’s Club.  It’s not nearly as good as hers was but it still brings back memories.  I’m really sad that nobody else likes it – what memories of Christmas will my own family have if they don’t have the fruit cake?  But, then again, on the other hand if nobody else LIKES fruit cake, that means I get it all to myself!  One year I ate an entire fruit cake by myself… I was pretty sure I was going to turn into a fruit cake!

So thank you mom, for feeding me that doorstop… er, Fruit Cake so early as a young child and for keeping in me Fruit Cake every year!  I’ll need to make my own someday, and hopefully soon so that I can give YOU a treat of fruit cake one year.

I love you mom, thanks for 54 years of wonderful Christmas memories! I’m passing along traditions to my own children – all grown and all gone from home now – in hopes that they too will pass along traditions to their children. To my kids, fruit cake is not the one Christmas Treat they count on each year.  It’s “Millionaire’s Shortbread” – called that because I’m pretty sure you have to be a millionaire to make it!

What are your favourite Christmas treats that shout “Christmas memories” to you? Let me know! Maybe I’ll whip it up and blog about it right here!

Until next time,

Happy Noshing!

Leave a Reply

