Dessert

…and fall goes on – another pumpkin recipe!

A few weeks ago I made these killer Pumpkin Cupcakes from a recipe courtesy of the DC Cupcake Girls. They were so amazing!  But what to do with the leftover pumpkin?  Well, it went in the fridge, actually!

The past few weeks have been brutal for me. I have been in the middle of a large project at work and that has consumed my every waking moment – including some of my sleeping moments too.  Weeks of heading in early and staying late, arriving home between 8 or 9 each night.  Then keeping up with other obligations… well, you get the idea.  I was exhausted.  And then, there was that left over pumpkin sitting in the fridge.

Oh Martha Stewart, you haunt me some days!

I went back through my own Facebook page to find the recipe link to Martha’s scrumptious looking Pumpkin Bread Pudding. Found it.  And here’s the link for you too!  Pumpkin Bread Pudding.   The recipe is quite simple to make.  This fantastic dessert will probably end up replacing pumpkin pie for our Thanksgiving dinner and/or Christmas dinner. It’s not overly sweet which is nice, and it’s packed with that fantastic pumpkin flavour.

There are some changes I made – I substituted the Anise Seed with some nutmeg.  Note to self: buy a little nutmeg grater and switch to whole nutmeg.  Okay, I’m back…. other than that substitution I stuck right to Martha’s recipe!

But… the pièce de résistance (oooh, look at me  being all bi-lingual!) is the dulce de leche.  Now, we’re talking!

Okay I’ve had dulce de leche before and I love it, but I bought it at a store, pre-made and very yummy!  But, hey if Martha can do it, so can I.  So, back to the recipe!  Sounds simple – milk, sugar, a bit of salt, and some baking soda. So Martha… let’s go!

6 cups of whole milk and one and a half cups of sugar and 1/4 tsp of salt.  These three ingredients will be brought to a simmer and then stir in 3/4 tsp of  baking soda.  It will foam up at first, so keep skimming off the foam.

Stage 1:  Milk, Sugar, salt, baking soda.

Stirring away, I was anxious to see this creation turn into that coveted Dulce de Leche!  Stirring…. stirring… stirring……

Stage 2: finally starting to get some colour


Now, the part of the recipe directions that annoyed me – SERIOUSLY ANNOYED ME – was the time line. The written directions clearly say that you should stir and skim off the foam “until sauce is deep golden brown and lightly coats a spoon, 45 minutes to 1 hour.” Seriously Martha?  What planet speeds up this process to 45 minutes to 1 hour!!!  Earlier in the ‘description’ portion of the recipe that it takes hours!  YEP it sure did…. so here’s the next picture of the process…. at hour 3!!!

Finally after four hours… yes you read that correctly… FOUR hours – F-O-U-R hours…. it was ready!  It duly coated the back of a spoon and it was absolutely delicious:

So, the bread pudding had been done for EVER and now this fantastic creation of the dulce de leche… and we’re ready to try it!  One word – okay maybe TWO words… ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!  Unfortunately, I couldn’t wait to take a picture and so Scott and I dug into it and noshed away!  Oh my word!  Yummy!

So, what did I learn in this process?

1.  Pumpkin Bread Pudding is fabulous

2. Homemade Dulce de Leche is beyond delicious

3.  Martha Stewart is a liar!  🙂  45 minutes to an hour was under-estimated by 3 hrs!

4. I’d make the pumpkin bread pudding again but I would BUY the Dulce de Leche. Apparently President’s Choice makes a very good one!

Happy noshing!

Leave a Reply

