Sweets

Fall day and Pumpkins!

Don’t you just love weekends?  What I love more is the time I get to spend in the kitchen! Today was one of those days, and I was in heaven!  Here’s my day:

Sunday morning – normal routine, head to church in the morning.  It was our church’s 13th anniversary and I was running media. That meant I had to be there early.  Quick “instant” oatmeal in the car, stop for coffee, and let’s get going!  Fantastic service, seriously good!  (www.summitcommunity.ca).  After more coffee at church, we left and headed out for lunch.  I always enjoy time alone with Scott, and of course I love food too, so lunch – with Scott – a perfect combination.  The afternoon was quiet – although I had baking on my mind!  Deciding what to bake….hmmm….  I need something that screams “It’s FALL!”  Oh, my phone….  it was my son, and so we talked for quite a bit about life.  I wish my kids lived closer.  I miss my boys!  My daughter, thankfully, lives about 30 minutes away.

Now the day was getting on.  Still had the urge to bake up something ‘fall-ish’.  But what?  Obviously pumpkins had to be a part of it!  Pumpkin pie?  Tarts?  Cookies? (Oh, my daughter makes THE BEST pumpkin cookies!) muffins?  or… CUPCAKES!  Yes, that’s it.

I kind of had pumpkin cupcakes on my brain for quite some time.  A few weeks ago I went with my sister-in-law to the Baking & Sweets show in Toronto.  The DC Cupcake girls were there and they demo’d their famous pumpkin spice cupcakes with maple cream cheese frosting.  Okay.  That HAD to be what I needed to bake today!  Pumpkin spice?  Maple syrup?  Seriously?  No contest… I was on it!

Close your eyes…. imagine the scent of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin, maple syrup… all together in one place!  Did you smell it?  Could you imagine it?  My kitchen smelled A-MA-Zing!

Because I don’t want to violate a copyright law or anything, I’ll post the link to the recipe below.  Trust me, these are among the yummiest pumpkin spice…well… anything!  I made a few changes – I didn’t do the rolled fondant maple leaf for the top of each. I didn’t use the plain icing tip, I used a large star (Ateco #829. Everything else was as written.  I hope you try these, and I hope you fall in love with the scent that will fill your house.  I had to close the windows, the throngs of neighbours outside clamoring for cupcakes was getting to be a bit too much. Oh wait, I think that was the dogs.  Well, either way, the cupcakes were a hit!

Enjoy – and remember this – nothing tastes as good as something made from scratch!  Acquaint yourself with your kitchen again, introduce yourself to your oven, to your mixing bowls, and to the love of baking!  Your family will thank you!

Happy noshing!

Oh, and by the way, Katherine and Sophie, those DC Cupcake girls,  are adorable!

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

3 thoughts on “Fall day and Pumpkins!”

Leave a Reply

