Cookies

Searching for the perfect Peanut Butter Cookie

Cookies.  They hold a power over us.  The aroma of those little gems as they bake.  The combination of fresh butter, sugar, flour and… what else? Chocolate chips? Ginger & molasses? Oats & raisins?  Or how about peanut butter?  Ah, well now we’re talking!  Peanut butter cookies are probably one of my most favourite! I happen to think my recipe is the best, seriously, the best!  But maybe I’m just a little biased!  Really, have you had one of those peanut butter cookies from a coffee shop?  Not the best.  Well, there was only one way to find out – test out a bunch of cookies. Now THIS is my kind of research!  And research I did!

Here’s what I came up with:  My recipe is truly my favourite!  What makes it so special… stand apart… from other peanut butter cookies? My secret ingredient.  It may sound bizarre, but it truly is what sets these cookies apart from all other peanut butter cookies. What is that ingredient you ask?  Cinnamon!

Ready?  Here we go.  The recipe is old… I’ve made it so many times that the words are all so blurred.  I think I need to write it out again so that my kids can read it!

Start by preheating the oven to 350.
Just like every other peanut butter cookie recipe, we start with 1/2 c peanut butter (I use a ‘just peanuts’ brand.  Of course, this means that there is oil separation when you first open it.  This is perfectly normal because the peanut butter is not hydrogenated – ugh – and that’s what keeps the oil in the peanuts from separating from the ‘butter’.  No worries – the plain peanut butter is much healthier!  You just need to stir the oil into it – be patient.  Once you have it all stirred together, make sure you store it in the fridge that will keep the oil from re-separating.) Okay, now that we’ve covered peanut butter, let’s move on…

recap – 1/2 c peanut butter.

1/2 c room temperature unsalted butter.
cream these two together.

then add 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar.  Cream together, again!

to this add 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and 1 egg.  Mix all together!

Then, in a separate bowl whisk together the dry ingredients:
1 1/4 c flour, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder and a pinch of salt. and… my secret ingredient…. 1 tsp cinnamon!!  Trust me on this one!

Stir the dry ingredients into the peanut butter mixture until fully mixed.

Using a spoon scoop up about a tablespoon or so of the dough and roll into a ball.  Place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet (again, I always use parchment, that way when I’m done baking, the parchment goes out and the cookie sheet goes away – clean!! Oh yes, less dishes…. I’m not just another pretty face you know!  🙂 )

Once you have the balls all placed on the cookie sheets, gently flatten slightly with a fork. To keep the dough from sticking to the fork, keep ‘dipping’ it in flour.

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.  Let cool slightly before moving to a cooling rack.
These are delightfully crisp cookies that will just melt in your mouth.  The addition of the cinnamon really gives that little ‘something special’ that you won’t find in other peanut butter cookies.  Pour yourself a glass of ice cold milk, grab a few cookies, put your feet up and enjoy!

Happy noshing!

Enjoy these delicious treats!  Let me know how
you like them!

Leave a Reply

