Dessert

A taste of summer

I know, I know… it’s been awhile!  I’ve been busy!  I just returned from Calgary, Alberta.  I’m back on track!

After my last post (Morning Berry Strata) I had some strawberries left over.  Hmmm, what should I make???  Well,  I made the most scrumptious Rhubarb-Strawberry crisp.  The rhubarb in our backyard was growing out of control so before my husband dug it out, I pulled lots of it! He then transplanted the entire thing across the road from us. We have some green space there and we decided to start a little ‘wild’ garden there.  Planted rhubarb, some double-gold lilies, and some dill.  We are hoping that some neighbours will also start to do the same!

Okay, the rhubarb…. I had a kitchen full of fresh rhubarb!  I had those left-over strawberries from the other breakfast. I decided that for dessert for our bbq’d dinner I would make a fresh rhubarb-strawberry crisp.

Now, I really do not have a recipe for this.  I have never had a recipe!  I remember asking my mother one day years ago how to make apple crisp and she just rattled off what she did.  Bewildered by the lack of measuring I tried several variations –  some good, some not so good, some downright horrible,  until I perfected my own special creation!  Apple crisp – we’ll save for the fall.  On this day, it was my fresh rhubarb.  So, let’s get to work!

I can’t begin to tell you quantities!  Oh dear! I really eye-ball the quantities… I’m sorry!

Preheat the oven to 375.  I buttered a  1.5 litre baking dish. (approx 6 cup size!)   And really, use butter people!  Seriously!!  Set that aside for now.

Cut the rhubarb in to 1″ chunks about enough to fill 3/4 of the way into a a mixing bowl (slightly larger than your buttered dish) Gently wash (and spin dry in a salad spinner) fresh strawberries.  If these are “normal sized” strawberries you don’t need to cut them.  If they are some of those new gigantic “mutant” strawberries, you should slice them in half lengthwise. Toss the berries and rhubarb together.  Here is where my experimenting varied from my mother’s original recipe over 35 years ago (yikes, was it really that long ago?)  I tossed in about 2 TBSP of corn starch.  Yes, corn starch!  and about 2 TBSP of white sugar.  Yes, white sugar!  Your rhubarb-berry mixture will look coated in ‘white’.  That’s the way it should look.

Empty the bowl into your pre-buttered dish, and set aside again.

In the same mixing bowl (why dirty another bowl?) add about 3/4 cup of quick oats, 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 cup soft butter, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.  Mix these together until it looks well mixed – good distribution of everything.  Like I said – I really don’t have a recipe… I eyeball this!  Use more if you are using a bigger baking dish, less if you are using a smaller one!  Spoon the oat mixture over the Rhubarb-berry mixture.

Pop the whole thing into your pre-heated oven and bake for about 40-45 minutes or until golden on top and the rhubarb is tender (you can check that with a fork!).

Let it sit to cool for a bit, and serve warm… with a nice scoop of a good quality ice cream on top!

Delicious taste of summer!  If you wait until your local strawberries are ready, oh my what a treat this is going to be!

Image

You can adjust this but simply eyeballing the quantities.  The bigger the baking dish, the more rhubarb and strawberries, the more oat mixture, etc.  You get the idea.  This is a deliciously sweet and yummy fresh dish!  Garnish with a couple of fresh mint leaves on the side!

My mouth is watering… I’ll need to make this again very soon!

Happy noshing!

P.S. Sorry about the picture – the lighting is not great, and we started digging into it… couldn’t wait… too yummy!

2 thoughts on “A taste of summer”

  1. Love getting your recipes but I haven’t tried one yet. This one looks delicious. I have a really good rhubarb/strawberry cobbler which I make every year, Would be very happy to e-mail that to you if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

