Eating Clean!

Eating clean and feeling full!

My latest issue of Clean Eating magazine arrived in the mail last week.  It’s the one magazine I read cover to cover.  Full of wonderful recipes, exercise tips, health tips and – a two-week eating plan to help you slim down and pump up your health!

This month I decided to give the two-week plan a whirl.  To prepare, the plan comes complete with a shopping list making it easy to get everything you need for the week.  A full week.  Seven days.  And then another shopping list, another plan, and seven more days.  Kind of like “lather, rinse, repeat” for foodies!

Anyway, armed with my reusable grocery bags and my shopping list (already noting what I had in the kitchen) off to the grocery story I went.  My cart was loaded – seriously – with so many fresh veggies, herbs, fruits, lean proteins, etc.  Nothing junkie!  Nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  Tempting – nachos… did not give in!  I couldn’t fail before I started!

And so I began.  I posted the plan for week 1 on the fridge door so I would have it handy and know exactly what I was making. Starting with making my lunch for today, I prepped exactly what I needed for a mid-morning snack, my lunch, and a mid-afternoon snack.  Packed it all in my cooler bag and popped it in the fridge.  So far, so good!

This morning, I made the first breakfast on the plan. I scrambled 2 egg whites – well actually FOUR egg whites (I doubled everything to allow Scott to enjoy my two-week eat clean plan as well! Lucky guy!) I steamed some swiss chard and served it over the egg whites, and then added 1/4 cup of light Monterey Jack cheese on top.  I know what you’re thinking – YUMMY!  But wait, it didn’t end there!  Our eat clean breakfast also included 2 wedges of cantaloupe.  Now go ahead, say YUM… good.  Let’s move on.

I won’t bore you with the two snacks and lunch…. let’s move on to dinner.

Black beans and rice.

Really!

This was made by taking 1 jalapeno pepper (fresh) and removing the seeds, then dicing.  3 oz of turkey sausage (casings removed and crumbled), 1/4 white onion chopped – sauteing these all together until the sausage is browned evenly and the onions/pepper is soft. To this add 1 cup cooked brown rice and 1 cup black beans (drained and rinsed).  Heat through and serve!  Now, I’ve given you the ingredients for ONE – I made it for two people and so doubled everything!   Also, alongside this bean-rice dish, the plan said to use 1 cup “Pacific Natural Foods Organic Light Sodium Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato All Natural Soup.”  Ya, I couldn’t find that anywhere!  I substituted PC Blue Menu Tomato & Roasted Red Pepper soup. It was yummy too!

So far: Day 1 Eat Clean Plan – success!

Tomorrow – breakfast is Buckwheat Berry Crepes – Can’t wait!  I’m all prepped and ready for the morning!

Until next time,

Happy noshing!

 

Leave a Reply

