Soup

Spring Cold and Hot Soup!

What is with this weather?  Seriously!!!

About a week ago I got the worst cold I’ve had in years.  My sinuses hurt.  My throat hurts.  My lungs hurt.  My ears are plugged!  Ugh.  There is nothing worse than a spring cold.  What makes my spring cold worse is that we had this beautiful hot weather in March and then plummeted back down to the freezing range again.  It snowed this week.  Yes it did.  Ugh.  I needed comfort!  I needed something warm.  Hmmm… SOUP!

I ended up making a delicious (really, I’m not just saying that) potato leek soup* that was clean and filling and so very yummy!  Here it goes… hope you enjoy it too but sorry, no pictures!  I forgot!  Hey I was sick!

• 3 leeks, whites only, well rinsed and drained, coarsely chopped
• 4 medium Yukon gold (yellow)  potatoes
• 1 tbsp EVOO
• ¼ cup chopped onion
• 2 cloves garlic, minced
• 4 cups  (2 L) low-sodium, low-fat chicken broth or homemade stock – Try PC Organics. It tastes pretty good and finally

1 cup skim milk

Leeks are grown in sandy soil so you really need to wash them thoroughly.  Cut into 1/2 to 1 inch pieces. Place in a colander and rinse them again. All the sand gone?  Good… now continue

Peel potatoes and cut them into 1-inch chunks.  In a large (!!) saucepan or Dutch oven, or soup pot, whatever LARGE pot you have, heat up the olive oil. Add the leeks, onion and garlic. Cook for 5-10 minutes, until soft.  Don’t over-cook this.  You just want everything soft!

Next, add your chicken stock to saucepan, toss in the potatoes, and bring the mixture to a full rolling boil.  Then reduce the heat and cook for another 20 minutes – or until the potatoes are soft.  Stir in the milk and heat up again.  Scoop out about 2 cups of the chunky mixture.  The rest, you will purée in a food processor.  Stir the chunky part back in and serve!  Yum Yum Yum.

If you don’t have a food processor you can use a blender BUT BE CAREFUL!  You need to do this in very small bits or the lid will blow off, your soup will fly all over and you’ll get burned (and you’ll have one huge mess to clean up!)  Yes, I speak from past experience (about 30 years ago… ugh, what a mess!)  Anyway, as long as you do it in small batches and start slow and gradually speed up the blender to puree, you’ll be ok!

We had this with a nice green salad, and some fresh baguette.

It was JUST the comfort I was looking for.  The only thing that would have been better?  Hmmmm, wonder if you can make chocolate soup?  ~kidding~

Enjoy, and happy noshing!

*recipe adapted from Eat Clean Diet (Tosca Reno)

3 thoughts on “Spring Cold and Hot Soup!”

  1. I got a Cuisinart Smart-Stick hand blender for Christmas that makes soups like this so easy, blend them right in the pot. You’ll have to put that on your wish list to Santa this year 🙂 I think that leek and potato is such a yummy combination.

  2. Jenny-Lynn, do you like your immersion blender? I’m thinking I should get one! I love my KitchenAid food processor – but sometimes, for soup, I think the immersion blender would be faster! I’d love to hear your thoughts!!

  3. I love my immersion blender. I make a lot of blended soups so I use it a lot. The Cuisinart goes on sale at Canadian Tire or under $50 sometimes to, watch for it. The lowest I’ve seen was $48.99.

Leave a Reply

