Main

Happy Easter… and Kitchen disasters!

Well, Happy Easter everyone.

HE IS RISEN!  (He is risen, Indeed!)

Four of the kids made it home for Easter Dinner – we missed Adam but overall, we had a nice visit together as family.  Cooking on the other hand, was a bit of a challenge.  My oldest son, Jay, has recently embraced a vegan diet. The menu for today was ham.  Hmmm, what to do!  After making sure I had all the ingredients I needed, I prepared my ham – with scalloped potatoes, carrots, and asparagus.  I also made – for Jay – “Paradise Island Black Bean Burgers”, courtesy of “Eat Clean Diet, Recharged” (Rbt Kennedy Publishing, Tosca Reno Author.)

But first… I need to tell you about my ‘disaster’.  I set my oven and off we went to church this morning.  Came home and found out that although the timer on the oven went fine… it didn’t cook a thing! My oven failed to turn on!  ARGH!!!!  So, the scalloped potatoes and ham were nowhere ready to be had!  So frustrating!  Immediately turned everything on… and started to plan… what could we eat while we waited now?  Easy….

While we wait for our daughter and son-in-law to arrive, we were getting a little hungry so I made a quick appetizer – Kale Chips.  So yummy!  Basically chop fresh kale, toss lightly with olive oil, sea salt and pepper and bake in the oven until they are crispy. These were so yummy!  We ate all of them!

Next… I prepared the vegan dish for Jay.  The day before I had cooked up some brown rice and put it in the fridge.  Mixing 1 cup of cooked brown rice together with 1 cup of black beans (I used the PC Blue Menu ones, rinsed!) mashed.  Added 2 tbsp of mashed cooked sweet potatoes and 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  So far, so good.  Then, to that I added some chopped green onion (just the whites) some cumin (1/2 tsp) chili (1 tsp) oregano and basil (about 1/2 tsp each) and 1/4 tsp salt.  Mix it all together and form in to 4 patties.

Popped these into a non-stick pan with about 1 tbsp of olive oil and browned each side – basically until heated through.

These smelled wonderful!  Jay was impressed – served it up on Ezekiel bread.  Jay added ‘burger fixings’.  The burgers were a smash hit.  He ate one while we waited on and on for the scalloped potatoes……  my disaster….. the milk in the potatoes boiled up and over and made a mess in my oven.  (It’s currently in self-clean mode).

With everyone at the table… we enjoyed a delicious Easter Dinner together – 5 of us enjoying Ham and potatoes and the extras, and 1 enjoying his vegan meal.

I hope you and those you love enjoyed the day and reflected on its meaning!   Happy Easter – He IS risen!

Happy noshing!

Paradise Black Bean Burgers
(Eat Clean Diet, Recharged)

Leave a Reply

