Main

Any more chicken and I’ll sprout feathers!

For the past week, I’ve pretty much had nothing but chicken! Chicken for lunch.  Chicken for a snack.  Chicken for dinner.  Chicken, chicken and more chicken.  My hubby went away for the week and so on Monday night I just bbq’d up a week’s worth of chicken!  I think I’m about to sprout feathers!  Not the case tonight.  Tonight I’m making a delicious bison tenderloin with a zesty coffee rub for dinner.  I wish I could claim it as an original recipe, but alas, it is not!  It is, however, from the Eat Clean Cookbook (2009, Tosca Reno, Robert Kennedy Publishing, p243).  Because my weigh-in today was so positive (down 3.6 lbs) I am inspired and encouraged to keep on going…sans poulet!

I visited the Nature’s Emporium in Newmarket and picked up a few things to keep me on track and eating clean.  One of the items in my basket was a delicious Bison Tenderloin.  I love Bison.  The flavour is very mild and the meat is so lean! If you absolutely love beef tenderloin, I’d highly encourage you to try Bison!  Your family won’t notice the difference, except that it’s pretty much fool-proof – it’s so lean and tender!

So, to cook our bison, I’m using 10 cloves of garlic, peeled but left whole.  Yes… 10… T-E-N.  We’ll also be using the best quality EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil… now that you know what it stands for, I’ll use EVOO in my blogs from here on), and of course the Zesty Coffee Rub.

With my oven good and hot (400F / 200C) and the bison at room temp (important!) lightly coat your roasting pan with the EVOO. If there is any visible fat on the tenderloin you should remove it.

Next, make slits in the bison and slide in those cloves of garlic!  Yummy.  You should SMELL my kitchen!  Awesome!

Now, let’s make that zesty coffee rub! Must admit, I was skeptical at first…. coffee? on my tenderloin? Bah.  Actually, all the spices together with the coffee, well, it just smells awesome!  Can’t wait to taste it on the finished tenderloin.  So, here we go.  You’re going to need:

2 TBSP of finely ground fresh coffee beans, 2 TBSP freshly ground black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt, 1 TBSP ground cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (I know…. you think we’ve already used enough garlic!  Trust me on this one!!!!) and a pinch of cayenne pepper.  Mix all these together in a bowl until it looks like everything is really combined well!   I rubbed the meat, really gave it a good massage (as instructed in the cookbook!) using up ALL the rub.  Be sure that you haven’t missed any of those hidden little places!  Get it all in there!

Place your bison into the prepared roasting pan and roast for about 40 minutes.  Bison is so yummy, and really as long as you don’t over-cook it, it will taste so amazing!!!!

So, it’s ready to come out of the oven now.  I’m going to let it stand for about 5 minutes and then slice it thinly.  I’ve prepared some herb and garlic roasted baby potatoes with small onion (there will be NO vampires visiting our home tonight!) and some steamed green beans.  I opted to leave the green beans plain.  This meal is seasoned enough!

Okay, picture time, then we’ll eat this yummy smelling dish! (confession – I already nibbled a bit of the bison, it’s A-MA-ZING!

This meal is considered “clean” and very healthy for you!  Enjoy it without any guilt!  🙂

Until next time,

Happy noshing!

Leave a Reply

